I will read 10 books in 2023

I didn’t read much in 2022, so I’m setting myself the goal to read 10 books in 2023.

Lauren Tormey
2 min readJan 1, 2023

A goal-less 2022

For the past few years, I’ve set a running goal for myself to get me through the year. I didn’t set one in 2022, and I wrote on my running blog how unfocused I felt because of it.

Read my 2022 running recap

Reading in 2023

I realized I needed to set a goal for myself in 2023. I couldn’t think of anything running related I wanted to commit to.

While pondering, an idea came to mind: I would commit to reading 10 books, and when I was done with each one, I’d write a blog post about the book.

Why reading

I’ve chosen reading as my goal because I fell out of the habit of it in 2022, and I want to fix that.

I typically read in bed before going to sleep. When I started living together with my boyfriend early on in 2022, I found it much harder to read at night when I had someone to chat to before sleeping.

But I’m planning to get to bed earlier this year so I can start reading before the chat. It’s my mission to balance being happy with being informed.

Why 10 books

10 seems like a manageable number.

I don’t want to race to read as many books as I can.

I also don’t want to say 12 and feel pressured to finish a book a month.

I want to read at the pace I want to read at.

What I’ll be reading

The priority for my 2023 reading list is to get through books I already own that I want to finally read.

I’m not someone who buys a bunch of books and never touches them, so it’s not an exhaustive list to get through.

I think the majority of these will be non-fiction. Since 2020, I have found I have no desire to read fiction, but I think I’ll include at least one novel in my 2023 list for some variety.

I’m going to start by finishing a book I actually started reading before the new year: The 1619 Project.

The 1619 Project book website

My goal, my rules. I’m not going to let the second half of this book remain untouched for a year just because I didn’t finish it in 2022.

What the blog posts will be about

I don’t have a set template in mind for what I want to say about each book. I think it’ll be different with each one.

Some might be reviews, others might share a few key quotes or takeaways from the book. I’ll let the book determine what kind of post it will be.

On that note, the next time you’ll hear from me on this will be my post about The 1619 Project.

Happy 2023 reading, everyone.

--

--

Lauren Tormey

Content Designer. Runner. Immigrant. I write about things related to all 3.